KANNAPOLIS, N.C. - In addition to switching manufacturers in 2017, Stewart-Haas Racing will be joining the NASCAR Xfinity Series.

The championship-winning organization announced Monday that it would field a full-time, single-car team in the Xfinity Series.

"In order to maintain the competitiveness that has earned SHR two championships since our debut in 2009, we needed an outlet to develop drivers and team personnel for the Sprint Cup Series," said Greg Zipadelli, vice president of competition. "People make the difference between winning and losing. An Xfinity Series team gives us added depth that will allow us to promote from within whenever necessary."

The team's driver and sponsor lineup are expected to be announced before the end of the 2016 season. The team will be based in SHR's headquarters that houses the organization's Sprint Cup lineup.

"An Xfinity Series team has always been something we would consider when the time was right, and that time is now," said Tony Stewart, co-owner. "Staying successful in this sport means staying ahead of the curve, and having an Xfinity Series team provides an in-house driver development program and a new channel for personnel to make a positive impact with our race team."

Stewart-Haas Racing has won two Sprint Cup championships, most recently in 2014 with driver Kevin Harvick. Since forming in 2009, SHR has won 33 points races at NASCAR's top level, two non-points races, and 28 pole awards. Three of the organization's four drivers are qualified for the 2016 Chase.