DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- Championship-winning owners Joe Gibbs and Roger Penske headline the nominees for the 2018 NASCAR Hall of Fame class.

Joining Gibbs and Penske as first-time nominees were 2000 NASCAR champion Bobby Labonte, 1992 Daytona 500 champion Davey Allison, and driver Red Byron.

Since entering NASCAR's ranks as an owner in 1992, Gibbs' teams have combined to win 140 races in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series and four championships, including Labonte's 2000 title. His team has been the hallmark of success in the NASCAR Xfinity Series, winning 132 races and five owner championships.

Penske's name is synonymous with excellence in motorsports. Penske has been a full-time owner in NASCAR's top series since the 1991 season. Team Penske captured its only NASCAR Cup Series title with driver Brad Keselowski in 2012. Keselowski also won the 2010 NASCAR Xfinity Series championship with Penske.

Allison, who died in 1993, won 19 races in NASCAR's premier series in 191 starts, including the 1992 Daytona 500 and 1991 Coca-Cola 600. Allison, who is the son of NASCAR Hall of Famer Bobby Allison, also took the victory in the first night race at Charlotte Motor Speedway, scoring the win in the 1992 All-Star Race as he and Kyle Petty crashed across the finish line in one of NASCAR's most memorable races.

Labonte won 32 races across NASCAR's top three series, including 21 Cup Series events. His 2000 championship season included wins in the Brickyard 400 and Southern 500. Labonte also won the 1991 Xfinity Series crown. Labonte's brother Terry was named to the 2016 NASCAR Hall of Fame class.

Farmer began racing in 1949 and captured three NASCAR Late Model Sportsman championships in 1967, '70, and '71. An original member of the "Alabama Gang," Farmer also won the 1956  NASCAR modified championship.

They join a list of 15 nominees that return from last year's ballot, including 19-time NASCAR premier series winner Buddy Baker, 1949 NASCAR champion Red Byron, and four-time Camping World Truck Series champion Ron Hornaday.

The remaining nominees are:

Ray Evernham, Ray Fox, Harry Hyde, Alan Kulwicki, Hershel McGriff, Larry Phillips, Jack Roush, Ricky Rudd, Ken Squier, Mike Stefanik, Waddell Wilson and Robert Yates.