CONCORD, N.C. - One Hot Night. Twenty-five years ago, Charlotte Motor Speedway made history by becoming the first superspeedway race under the lights in the 1992 running of the NASCAR All-Star Race.

Now, on the silver anniversary of one of the sport's most memorable events, the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series will pay homage by returning the 1992's format with only the fastest drivers qualifying for an opportunity to bring home $1 million.

The 2017 Monster Energy All-Star Race will consist of four stages, totaling 70 laps. The first three stages will each be 20 laps, setting up a final 10-lap dash to the checkered flag. The winner of each stage will automatically qualify for the final, leaving seven spots for the remaining drivers, who will qualify for the finale based on their average finishing position in each of the first three stages.

After the third segment, the three stage winners and seven drivers with the highest average finishing position will fill the 10-car field for the 10-lap shootout. Teams will be given the option to pit prior to the final stage, and the starting order will be determined by pit road exit.

As an added twist, every team will be offered one set of softer, choice tires. The softer tires, which are up to a half-second faster per lap, will be available for use by teams at any point doing the All-Star Race. If a team chooses to put on their set of softer tires before the start of the final stage, that driver must start behind all cars that use the standard compound tire.

"The Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race is etched in the history of our sport for the most memorable moments, trend-setting innovation and big-money payouts," said March Smith, president and general manager of Charlotte Motor Speedway. "This new 70-lap format pays tribute to the 25th anniversary of 'One Hot Night' while pushing the drivers to the brink of insanity with the chances they'll take to win $1 million. I'm as ready as our fans for a May 20 Saturday night shootout where only a daredevil behind the wheel truly has a shot at Victory Lane."

Charlotte Motor Speedway also announced that qualifying for the All-Star Race will return to its traditional Friday night slot, and will again include a mandatory four-tire pit stop with no speed limit on pit road. The five fastest teams will advance to the final round of qualifying. The team that completes the fastest pit stop during qualifying will be rewarded with the Pit Crew Competition Award.

The Monster Energy Open will also return to its traditional start time on Saturday, prior to the running of the All-Star Race. It will consist of three segments (20 laps, 20 laps, 10 laps), and the winner of each segment will qualify for the Monster Energy All-Star Race. The Fan Vote winner will also advance to the All-Star Race field.

Drivers eligible for the 2017 All-Star Race will include drivers with points-paying victories in 2016 or 2017, full-time competitors with Monster Energy All-Star Race victories, and full-time Monster Energy Cup Series champions.

Drivers eligible for the 2017 Monster Energy All-Star Race

Chris Buescher, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt, Jr., Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Larson, Joey Logano, Jamie McMurray, Ryan Newman, and Martin Truex, Jr.

The Monster Energy All-Star Race and Monster Energy Open will air live on Fox Sports 1 on Saturday, May 20, at 6 p.m. ET.