CONCORD, N.C. - Hendrick Motorsports announced Thursday that they've signed NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver William Byron to a multi-year agreement.

The team announced that Byron will compete full-time for Hendrick affiliate JR Motorsports in the NASCAR Xfinity Series in 2017. The 18-year-old currently leads the Truck series points on the strength of five victories, a series record for rookies. 

"William is a special person and a special talent," said team owner Rick Hendrick. "It's been impressive to watch him come up through the ranks and have success at every level. What he's already accomplished this season has been remarkable. On top of all his ability, he's a terrific young man from a great family, and we think he has a very bright future with our organization."

In 13 starts for Kyle Busch Motorsports in 2016, Byron has accumulated seven top-five finishes and eight top-10 results, including three poles.

"Even before I started racing, it was a dream of mine to drive for Hendrick Motorsports," Byron said. "I have so much respect for the way Mr. Hendrick supports his people and encourages everyone to work together. This is the biggest announcement and biggest opportunity of my life, and I will do everything I can to make the most of it. I'm proud to be part of this team."

Next season won't mark the first time Byron has raced for Dale Earnhardt, Jr. in his career. Byron got his start in full-sized stock cars driving for JR Motorsports' late model program in 2014 and won two races over the course of two years.

"I owe so much to Dale Jr. and everyone at JRM for taking a chance on me in 2014," Byron said. "Looking back, I know none of this would've happened without that opportunity. I was there during Chase Elliott's championship season and got to learn a lot. I know what they're capable of, and I'm going to work really hard for them."

Since forming in 2005, JR Motorsports has won 29 Xfinity Series races with various drivers, including Dale Earnhardt, Jr., Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski, and NASCAR Hall of Fame inductee Mark Martin.